Clarity Lost and Sorta Found

This post is a raw and humbling one that I’ve tried to write with honesty. I don’t write it for pity. I write it as both an explanation and for other people who may be experiencing similar struggles. Forgive me, though, if it is muddled; it was difficult to accurately convey some really big feelings through a keyboard.


IMG_0510[1]

I’ve been in hiding as far as this blog goes. I can’t tell you why I continue to get these big ideas that I can train and run and blog and be a “with it” kind of human being. Clearly, that’s just not in the cards for me right now. It gets to a point where I don’t even know what to say here. I don’t know what to write. I don’t know if it’s worth it. I don’t know if I’m making a difference for others or for myself. And if I am making a difference for myself, is it negative?

It’s time to be transparent. I’ve fallen completely off the exercise wagon since mid-summer. I don’t feel my eating has been that terrible, but my exercise and training have been completely lacking. I am in a cycle of despising myself for not exercising and then not having the energy to get up in the morning because my mind has been filled with so much yuck.

I’ve gained 20 lbs in the last few months. That may sound like a lot to most people, but I’ve ¬†fluctuated dramatically my whole life. I can have a 5 lb difference from one day to the next. So I hope this weight will come off as quickly as it came on.

I hate seeing pictures of myself or looking in the mirror. I know it is an image of my own doing, and again, it catches me up in that cycle of being mad at myself and feeling defeated.

I want to be transparent. I’ve been building myself back to a place where I’m documenting my nutrition and my training. I’m cleaning up, both literally and metaphorically…deep-cleaning my house (something else that I fall behind on when I’m in a funk) and sweeping the cobwebs from the nooks and crannies in my brain.

My goal is to have a completely documented log of what I ate and what I did and how I feel. I won’t bombard you with it every day, but I may do a weekly wrap-up to show my (hopefully) progress.

I’m so tired of feeling bad. I gave up on trying to feel good, but I think it’s just going to take a lot more pushing than I was able to give previously. Now, though? I’m feeling like I’m at that proverbial fork in the road. I want to head down a path to all-around health before it’s too late.

I will be transparent. And I hope you can be understanding and patient. I still expect to hit those big and little bumps in the road; I have to learn to be understanding and patient with myself, too.

If anyone else has found themselves in a place like I am, please feel free to get in touch. I think the best thing is knowing that we are not alone in our struggles, whether they be mental or physical, weight-related or otherwise. You are worth fighting for, through all the shit and “yuck” the world throws your way. And I’m going to try to believe I am, too.

47a1eed0-a9b7-4e13-945e-cddd6077c425-597-00000079c640bb65

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Clarity Lost and Sorta Found

  1. Your honesty and transparency undoubtedly helps others. It takes courage to put yourself out there. It takes courage to try. Not everyone has that courage. I imagine your post will have a positive impact and even inspire someone who really needs it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Robin says:

    I must stay that today’s blog was one that I definitely relate to. I appreciate your honesty with the struggles that you have. There is no doubt many women especially that face the same sort of issues, but just don’t openly express them. Thank you for expressing the very same feelings that I have struggled with in my own life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heather says:

    I couldn’t have said it better. I am in the same rut trying to claw my way back to “getting it together”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am new to your blog but I am sorry to hear that you are having such a tough time of it right now. As a fellow blogger, I would say that I hope your blog is a positive experience for you. I had a rough summer myself with lots of ups and downs. Sending good thoughts your way that you find what you need

    Liked by 1 person

    • cassie mary says:

      Thanks so much for your comment, Deborah. Your words are truly appreciated. I am sorry to hear you had a rough summer, and I hope things level out for you soon! The “ups and downs” can definitely take a toll.

      Like

  5. lizhillpr1 says:

    You are my hero, Cassie. I love your incredibly brave and honest writing. Perhaps this crazy weight thing runs in our family? I, too, can be 5 or 6 pounds less or more throughout the course of just one day. Reading your blog I felt an even stronger connection with you, Niece!

    Liked by 1 person

    • cassie mary says:

      Thank you, Auntie. You are MY hero, and I’m lucky to have supportive and loving family. I’ve always thought the weight fluctuation could be at least partially genetic, so that is interesting to hear.
      Love you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

