3/2/17: Thankful Thursday

Wait, how is it Thursday already? And wait, it’s March? Somebody around here have a Time Turner for me? No? Okay, moving along.

This week, I had to write a focus in my Believe training journal. And I wrote, “Re-focus and re-build.” That has been what I’ve been trying to do. It has felt successful so far. I’ve been sleeping more, even if it means I still haven’t folded two loads of laundry that came out of the dryer 4 days ago. I’ve been eating better, even though I really wanted that mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, because what harm could it do? (One turns into two turns into popcorn turns into I-don’t-care-I-hate-me. Better to avoid that song and dance altogether for a while.)

With that, I am thankful! Always thankful!

  1. New opportunities: I have several new and exciting opportunities on the horizon for me. I am not talking much about them yet, because I don’t know how things will pan out.
    But I will say I’m also excited for the new opportunities provided to me through my daughter getting older. As much as I miss my baby, I’m also really happy with the fun conversations and new activities we can do together.

    img_6407

    Ready for “The Little Mermaid.”

    My hometown high school did a production of “The Little Mermaid” this last weekend. We decided to take LJ, just to see how she’d do. For those who don’t know her, she’s…high-maintenance in the loveliest way. She is always go-go-going, talk-talk-talking, sing-sing-singing, move-move-moving. Always. She exhausts me, and most days I love it.
    Well, we made it through the first act and then headed home to watch the second half of the movie on the couch. Hubby was impressed with her, even though I was a little frustrated. Oh well. Progress is progress.
    We have also been cooking more together, which leads me to…

  2. Healthy food that still tastes really damn good: LJ also seems to be developing an interest in cooking, and I am trying new healthy recipes. This week, we made some North African Vegetable and Chickpea Tagine that I  found in a Weight Watchers cookbook available to me from the library. (GO TO YOUR LIBRARY FOR THIS STUFF, PEOPLE!)
    img_6421

    I’ll learn to take better food pictures someday. I promise.

    Mmm. Look at that zucchini. And chickpeas. And cooked carrots. These are a few of my favorite things.
    Served it all over couscous. This was also one of those recipes that was even better the next day. I actually found a slightly modified version of the recipe here in case you’re interested.

  3. Friday: Do I even need to explain? Probably not. But I am reallllyyyy stoked that we’re nearly at a weekend level-up. My long run for the weekend is a shorty at only 4 miles, and I’m ready for some family time + R and R. I hope. We’ll see.

Alrighty, that’s what I’ve got for today. Happy almost-weekend, chickadees! You are magnificent!

Read on. Run on.
Cassie

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

