2/21/17: Tasty Tuesday

Greetings! I think I maybe have some nifty new readers, and that is awesome. (Shoutout to #thebloggesstribe!) Even if I have some nifty consistent readers, though, that’s just as awesome. I’m really glad you’re here. Even if my dad is the only person who reads this, that’s totally just as awesome. (Hi, Dad!)

So let’s get it out there. I had a super-lazy-super-bad-eating-DGAF kind of a day yesterday. It took all day for me to get even half way out of my funk and “turn that frown upside down” if you’re looking for the professional terminology.

Once I did, though, I was unstoppable for a good 18 minutes! Even just washing up a few batches of fruits and veggies for the week was enough to give me a little power boost.

img_6255

I also made a late-evening trip to the grocery store, which wasn’t even interrupted until I was in the checkout line and hubby called to tell me that LJ had shoved a pea up her nose and it was stuck and what should he do now. (Sidenote: flat-nosed[NOT POINTY] tweezers work as long as you can get your kid to stop screaming/flailing long enough to let you actually get near them with said flat-nosed tweezers. Probably not the safest method, but c’mon, that pea was RIGHT there. Hubby was looking for ye olde handy Nose Frida, though. Would have resorted to that if she hadn’t calmed down and sat still. Don’t judge me. We’re fine and she and I have discussed the fact that this has happened more than once. I think we’re at a good place.)

First up on the meal train this week: black bean and sweet potato chili! Actually pulled it from a Weight Watchers meal planning guide. Very enjoyable and 7 SP for 1 1/2 cups of chili with a tablespoons of light sour cream, and a couple tablespoons of avocado.

img_6265

LJ mostly tolerated it, which really is a solid B+ in preschooler life. I added some extra full-fat plain Greek yogurt to hers to take the chili edge off of it and give her a little nutrient boost.

Both LJ and hubby said they like this better than our usual slow-cooker chili, so I think it’ll be making a comeback.

In unrelated news, our weekend was rather eventful. A party Friday night, dance pictures Saturday morning, and a Stephen Kellogg concert Saturday evening along with our annual post-Valentine’s Valentine’s date. And some effing amazing vegetarian spring rolls at a Vietnamese restaurant we randomly picked. Baby shower Sunday. No-work, crash-and-burn kind of Monday. And here we are!

Most importantly (k, not really MOST), I have new running shoes! Getting a package with running shoes in it is like a little taste of Christmas in February. New ASICS, and I lurrrrrvvveee them. I don’t know why I stray from the Gel-Kayanos ever. My feet feel like they’re in a comfy, cozy, happy home when I put them on.

Well, that’s enough of a photo-dump for the evening. Hope you’re all doing well and enjoying life. If not, go do something fun. Or relaxing. Or sleep (which I find fun and relaxing). Right now! Go!

Read on. Run on.
Cassie

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “2/21/17: Tasty Tuesday

  1. Dad says:

    Haha. Gotta catch up on my kids. Always enjoy your stories!

    Like

Leave a Reply

