2/10/17: Biblio-Friday

Haaaappppyyyy Friday! How was your week, my dear little bookworms? I’m glad to be heading into the weekend, and we’ve got a Valentine’s Day 5k coming up tomorrow. Not sure if hubby will be so into it, because he was hit with “the crud” after I was. And he hasn’t been able to recover/get any runs in. We’ll take it easy.

So I’m super excited to have signed up for a website called Blogging for Books. Last week, I received my first request: Besties by Leah Reena Goren.

ldn-cover

Srsly. How sweet is that cover?

Besties is a whimsically illustrated ode to, you guessed it, best friends. It tells the many ways that two best girlfriends stay close over the years, all the way from mundane nights in to memorable once-in-a-lifetime vacations or nights out. It’s short, sweet, and a little bit quirky.

I first saw this book when I was shopping for Christmas presents a few months ago. I was very attracted to the cover and the playful illustrations. I considered getting it for my besties, but I passed simply due to finding other titles that fit their hobbies and interests.

Although I do think this book is a sweet dedication to best friends, I’m sort of glad I passed on it. It’s fun for a look-through, but I felt it told a story that was fairly specific to Goren and her own best friend. A lot of the details were too particular, and I know they didn’t apply to my besties and me. I found myself wanting the story to be a little more generic, since I assume the author was aiming to encompass a broad group of experiences and relationships for many women.

It was also a bit sugary-sweet for me. Maybe my besties and I have a slightly grittier relationship, but we occasionally have a tiff or disagreement. And we’re a lot grosser than Goren and her bestie seem to be. That happens when you’re in a long-term bestie-relationship. You deal with the pretty and not-so-pretty realities of life.

Ultimately, I enjoyed reading this, because it did remind me of many silly and heart-warming memories I have with my besties. And I’m happy to read about Goren’s lovely friendship, too. Not to mention she has some wonderful design/illustration skills. seriously lovely. I’d recommend this as a light read to those who have strong female friendships in their lives. It will most certainly make them reflect on the appreciation and love they have for their besties.

All right. That’s what I’ve got for today. Aiming for a Sorta-Silent-Saturday post tomorrow and a race recap next week. (Though I’m not sure I’d consider this “racing” by any means.)

Enjoy your weekends!

Read on. Run on.
Cassie
(Full disclaimer: I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.)

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

