8/18/16: Thankful Thursday

I’ve been neglecting my social media accounts this past week. I think it has been an unconscious result of my current insecurities as a runner/human being in general. I struggle often with self-esteem issues. And when I have thrown myself into the world of running over the years, my emotions come to a head.

I LOVE running. I love pushing myself to do better, be better, run further, run harder…I may hate it during the run, but afterward, I feel lighter and happier.

I HATE seeing other runners: their faster times, their figures, their strength as they pass me on the streets. I hate feeling like I never get better and struggling to lose weight and treading proverbial water while getting nowhere. And yes, I know I shouldn’t compare myself to others and I should only compete against myself and blah blah blah. It’s all much easier said than done, though. Many humans have a natural desire to compete and compare.

Tying it together with today’s Thankful Thursday theme, I’m going to reflect on three things I’m thankful for in regards to myself. (I encourage you to do the same.)

  1. My desire to learn: I am bookish and nerdy by nature. And I love this about myself. It has brought me to a place in my life where I am content with my work. I am always striving to know more, and I challenge myself intellectually, both professionally and in my personal life.
  2. My compassion: I try my best to be compassionate to all creatures, human or otherwise. I believe kindness will get you further than anything. I try to let the people I love KNOW I love them constantly. And I value the same traits/actions in others.
  3. My eyes: I mean, I felt I had to try to be body-positive and put at least one physical feature on here, right? I struggled to come up with anything, but this is something I know my husband loves. So here it is. They’re a pretty neat deep-chocolate brown, and they let me see some really amazing things every single day.

It’s your turn now! Think of three things you love about YOU. I bet I could think of a bunch about you, but that’s why it’s your turn. You don’t have to post them on here (please do if you feel so inclined), but I hope you at least take some time to reflect on all the things that make you awesome and beautiful and just a neat human being.

Read on. Run on.
Cassie

P.S. Chewie update: she’s a really bad runner/leash puller. But I still like her.

FullSizeRender

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

